The Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine CSD met in regular session on Monday, April 17, 2023 beginning at 5:03 p.m. Board members present included Scott Wilson, Carol Whittaker, Bryce Hoben and Jeff Riggan. Barbara Thompson arrived at 5:46p.m in person and was via phone prior at 5:09p.m. Also present were Supt. Mike Van Sickle, Chris Parkhurst, Amy Lantigua, Ken Spielbauer and Aimee Wedeking.

### Call to Order/Approval of the Agenda

President Wilson called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited. Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

Barbara Thompson arrived at 5:46p.m in person and was via phone prior at 5:09p.m.

# Question and Answer with Matt Gillaspie from Piper Sandler

Matthew Gillaspie with Piper Sandler & Co. presented a question and answer discussion of School Infrastructure Financing Capacity.

Regular Meeting started at 6:16p.m.

## Public Hearing on the proposed 2023-2024 Certified Budget

President Wilson announced that it was the time and place designated for the hearing on the FY24 Certified Budget. There were no citizens present for the hearing. President Wilson closed the hearing and called for a motion. Thompson moved and Hoben seconded, to adopt the proposed budget as published with a tax rate of \$10.99174 per \$1000 of assessed valuation. The roll was called and the motion passed unanimously 5-0.

# Hearing on the Proposed 2023-24 School Calendar and Approval of Same

Vice President Whittaker announced that it was the time and the place for the hearing on the 2023-24 school calendar. The school year will begin for students on August 23rd. It allows for a winter break December 23rd through Jan 7th and a break March 29th through April 2nd. The last day of school for students is set for May 21st. President Wilson asked for comments from the public. Mr. Van Sickle reviewed the calendar. President Wilson hearing no further comments, declared the hearing closed and asked for a motion to approve the FY24 School Calendar. Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to approve the FY24 School Calendar. The roll was called and the motion passed unanimously 5-0.

## Community Forum

Aimee Dieckman from Grandview, Iowa spoke about concerns with bullying. She feels that students need to be held more accountable for their actions. She also feels there should be more consequences for those actions.

#### Consent Agenda

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes of the March 15, 2023 regular meeting, the March 23, 2023 special meeting and the bills for approval. Motion carried 5-0.

#### Reports

Bailie Bonnichsen and Stacy Peterson presented the NHS year in review. Reports was given by Elementary Principal Aimee Wedeking, JH/HS Principal Chris Parkhurst, Director of Student Success & Curriculum Amy Lantigua and Activities Director Ken Spielbauer. Director Thompson had previously visited classrooms and presented student and teacher concerns/requests for improved learning.

## Approval of 2024-2025 Drivers Education Services

Hoben moved and Thompson seconded a motion to approve the 2024-2025 Driver Education Services with Mississippi Bend AEA at a cost of \$385 per student as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

# **Graduation Requests**

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the graduating Class of 2023, pending successful completion of the requirements for graduation.

Jersie Lea Ahlf, Jonathon Robert Cox, Spencer Jo Kessel, Brennan Edward Murphy, Bryar DeWayne Runnells, Kellan C. Walsh, Allison Arkon, Dalton James Cromer, Michael Alexander Kirby, Ashton Kole Neel, Emilee Renee Salek, Jordan M. Whittington, Seth Barajas, Cari Jo Crumly, McKenzie Kaye Kissell, Jasmine A. Negrón-McGhee, Emma L. Seefeldt, Destiny Wilkerson, Nathan Finley Bartenhagen, Christopher R. Day, Lydia Lynnette Lamp, Autumn Mae Peterson, Tanner John Seefeldt, Dylan J. Wilkinson, Keaten Kole Bieri, Hailey C. Duran, Jersey Rae Lessenger, Madalyn Rose Preston, Zuri Jasmine Solis, Jazmin JaDae Williams, Xander Scott Bieri, Owen Gabriel, Bryson Jesus Madriz, Kendal Lewis Pugh, Allen Scott Stauffer, Madison K. Winn, Arianna Marie Bishop, Logan Albert Hafner, Breanna Paige Maish, Taylor Kaitlyn Reeves, Grandiville Thomas Strong, Megan Judith Marie Zaehringer, Santana Mateo Chavez-Vega, Nickalus James Heuer, Daniel T. Martin, Manuel Maximus Robles, Alexander Torres Ortiz, Alyson M. Ziegenhorn, Aidan J. Cline, Sadie Breanne Johnson, Ethan Merle Massey, Scott Rose Jr., Sage Amariah Grace Van Sickle, Rylee Cole, Isabelle G. Keiser, Sosha Mulnix-Knapp, Emma M. Rosenboom and Dagan R. Wagner. Motion carried 5-0.

# Sharing Agreement for Work Based Learning Coordinator

Whittaker moved and Thompson seconded a motion to approve the sharing agreement for a Work-Based Learning Coordinator. Motion carried 5-0.

### <u>Purchase of Phonics Instruction Teacher Manuals and Approval of Phonics Curriculum</u>

Whittaker moved and Thompson seconded a motion to approve the purchase of the phonics instruction teacher manuals and approval of phonics curriculum from UFLI Foundations in the amount of \$1,354.50. Motion carried 5-0.

#### <u>Personnel</u>

Resignations: Thompson moved and Hoben seconded to approve the following resignations: Heidi Sievert: PLC Lead for Special Education for the 2023-24 school year, Grace Shanks: 2nd Grade Classroom Teacher after completion of 2022-23 school year, Darrian Plowman: Elementary Special Education Para and Bailie Bonnichsen: Student Council Advisor for the 2023-24 school year. Motion carried 5-0.

Hires: Thompson moved and Riggan seconded to approve the following hires: Bob McIntyre: Head Football Coach pending coaching authorization, background check & concussion course and Christine Romero: HS Para. Motion carried 5-0.

#### Informational

HS/JH Principal Parkhurst reviewed the district career and academic planning summary that needs to be submitted every year. Supt Van Sickle reviewed several grant request that have been and will be applied for youth fields and playground possibilities.

Adjournment Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:50 p.m. Motion carried 5-0.	
Scott Wilson, President	
Charles Domer, Secretary	