Regular Meeting

March 15, 2023

The Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine CSD met in regular session on Wednesday, March 15, 2023 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Board members present included Scott Wilson, Carol Whittaker, Bryce Hoben and Jeff Riggan. Barbara Thompson arrived at 4:07 p.m. Also present were Supt. Mike Van Sickle and Aimee Wedeking.

Call to Order/Approval of the Agenda

President Wilson called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited. Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

Community Forum

No one was present to speak at community forum.

Consent Agenda

Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes of the February 20, 2023 regular meeting, the bills for approval and the February financial reports. Motion carried 4-0.

Board Member Thompson arrived at 4:07p.m.

Reports

Supt. Van Sickle presented the report for JH/HS Principal Chris Parkhurst, Director of Student Success & Curriculum Amy Lantigua and Activities Director Ken Spielbauer. Report was given by Elementary Principal Aimee Wedeking. Head Wrestling Coach Henry Hoopes was present and gave the board an update on the season. He felt the season was a success and was not aware of any issues.

FY24 Certified Budget Presentation

Business Manager, Charles Domer presented the FY24 certified budget.

Approve Proposed Budget for Publication

Thompson moved and Hoben seconded to approve the 2023-2024 proposed budget for publication with a total levy rate of 10.99174. Motion carried 5-0.

Set Certified Budget Hearing Date/Time

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to set Monday, April 17th, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. at the LM Admin office as the time, date and place for the hearing on the FY24 Certified Budget. Motion carried 5-0.

<u>Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Agreement</u>

Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded a motion to approve of the 28E participation agreement in the lowa Local Government Risk Pool Natural Gas Program. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of College & Career Counselor 28E Agreement

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded a motion to approve the sharing agreements for the College and Career Transition Coordinator. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Digital Bus Radio System

Hoben moved and Whittaker seconded a motion to approve of the purchase of the digital bus radio system from Business Radio Sales at a cost of \$17,050.03. Motion carried 5-0.

Review and Approve 2022 Audit

Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded the motion to approve the 2021-2022 Audit. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of 28E Agreement for Shared School Counselor

Hoben moved and Thompson seconded a motion to approve the sharing agreement for the Shared School Counselor with West Liberty School District. Motion carried 5-0.

E-rate Internet Circuit Contracts

Thompson moved and Hoben seconded a motion to approve the following E-rate Internet Circuit Service Contracts from Louisa Communications for \$450/month and from Iowa Communications network for \$312.38/month less E-rate portions as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Personnel

Resignations: Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to approve the following resignation: Jesse Register: Industrial Technology Teacher pending suitable replacement/plan. Motion carried 5-0.

Voluntary Transfers: Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the following voluntary transfer: Renee Kemper from Elementary Special Education Para to JH/HS Building Secretary/Guidance Secretary starting April 3rd. Motion carried 5-0.

Volunteers: Hoben moved and Whittaker seconded to approve the following volunteers: Dawson Wehrle: Track pending licensure and Lora Earnest: Track. Motion carried 5-0.

Informational

Supt Van Sickle reviewed a request from Dawn Rios to adopt a Narcan policy. Supt Van Sickle presented two 2023-2024 district calendars and will have a recommendation in April.

Future Agenda Items

The April 17, 2023 start time was moved to 5:00 p.m.

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to adjourn the meeting at 5:16 p.m	. Motion carried 5-0.
Scott Wilson, President	

Charles Domer, Secretary