Regular Meeting March 18, 2024

The Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine CSD met in regular session on Monday, March 18, 2024 beginning at 6:00 p.m. Board members present included Scott Wilson, Bryce Hoben, Matt McCleary, Jeff Riggan and Carol Whittaker. Also present were Supt. Mike Van Sickle, Amy Lantigua, Aimee Wedeking, Ken Spielbauer and Chris Parkhurst.

Call to Order/Approval of the Agenda

President Wilson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Community Forum

No one was present to speak at community forum.

Consent Agenda

Hoben moved and Whittaker seconded to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes of the February 20, 2024 regular meeting, the February 22, 2024 and March 7, 2024 special meetings, the bills for approval and the February financial reports. Motion carried 5-0.

<u>Reports</u>

Reports were given by Elementary Principal Aimee Wedeking, JH/HS Principal Chris Parkhurst, Director of Student Success & Curriculum Amy Lantigua and Activities Director Ken Spielbauer.

Purchase of Ford Explorer

Whittaker moved and McCleary seconded a motion to approve the purchase of a 2025 Ford Explorer from Mincer Ford at a total cost of \$39,996.00. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Elementary Flooring Project

Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded the motion to approve the Elementary epoxy flooring project from HTF Solutions at a total cost of \$67,188.00 as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

E-rate Purchases

Hoben moved and Whittaker seconded the motion to approve the E-rate purchases: Ubiquiti Switches from RNS in the amount of \$4,126.20, Network Components to Rewire Janitor Closet from RNS in the amount of \$19,740.74, 1 GB Fiber Optic Circuit, 3 Year Agreement from Louisa Communications at a monthly cost of \$850. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of New Entrepreneurship Elective Class

McCleary moved and Hoben seconded the motion to approve the new Business class offering entitled Entrepreneurship and the Bizinnovator curriculum for the 24-25 school year and beyond as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of University Agreements

Whittaker moved and McCleary seconded a motion to approve the Morningside University & Upper Iowa University Agreements as outlined in the attached agreement. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of B Wing Playground Project

Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded a motion to postpone the vote on the improvements to the Elementary B Wing playground. Motion carried 5-0.

Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Agreement

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded the motion for approval of the 28E participation agreement in the Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Natural Gas Program. Motion carried 5-0.

Personnel

Resignations: Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to approve the following resignation: Eric Bramble: Head Boys Bowling Coach. Motion carried 5-0.

Request for Early Retirement: Hoben Moved and Whittaker seconded to approve the resignations and elections of the early retirement benefits for Wende Allender-Secondary Special Education Classroom Teacher. Motion carried, 5-0.

Hires: Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to approve the following hires: Eva Sorrowfree: Assistant JH Girls Basketball Coach, Donyell Archer: Head JH Softball Coach, Lori Bashore: Assistant JH Softball Coach pending coaching authorization & concussion course, Amie Ayers: Elementary Secretary and Rebecca Ford: HS Level II Special Education Teacher for 2024-25 school year. Motion carried 5-0.

Voluntary Transfer: Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the following voluntary transfer: Heidi Sievert from Lead TLC Teacher/Coach to HS Special Education Teacher Strategist I for 2024-25 school year. Motion carried 5-0.

Informational

Supt Van Sickle reviewed the SIAC Foundation Facility Recommendation of design option 21 on a new gym with lockers.

Future Agenda Items

Will do a tour of the new Transportation and Maintenance Building at the April meeting.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Whittaker moved and Riggan seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:07 p.m. Motion carried 5-0.

Scott Wilson, President

Charles Domer, Secretary