Regular Meeting

June 16, 2025

The Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine CSD met in regular session on Monday, June 16, 2025 beginning at 6:00 p.m. Board members present included Scott Wilson, Bryce Hoben, Matt McCleary, Stacie Ziegenhorn and Jeff Riggan. Also present were Supt. Mike Van Sickle, Amy Lantigua and Aimee Wedeking.

Call to Order/Approval of the Agenda

President Wilson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Riggan moved and Hoben seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Community Forum

No one was present for community forum.

Consent Agenda

Riggan moved and Ziegenhorn seconded to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes of the May 19, 2025 regular meeting, the bills for approval and the May financial reports. Motion carried 5-0.

Reports

Reports were given by Elementary Principal Aimee Wedeking, Director of Student Success and Curriculum Director Amy Lantiqua. Supt. Mike Van Sickle reviewed the report for HS/JH Principal John Kerr and Activities Director Ken Spielbauer.

Contract for Transfer of State Special Education Funds

Ziegenhorn moved and Hoben seconded a motion to approve the contract for transfer of State Special Education Funding with Mississippi Bend AEA. Motion carried 5-0.

<u>First Reading of Policies 503.9: Student Use of Personal Electronic Devices & 503.9 R(1): Student Use of Personal Electronic Devices-Regulation</u>

McCleary moved and Riggan seconded to approve the First Reading to board policies 503.9: Student Use of Personal Electronic Devices & 503.9 R(1): Student Use of Personal Electronic Devices-Regulation. Motion carried 5-0.

Buena Vista University Agreement

Hoben moved and Ziegenhorn seconded to approve the agreement with Buena Vista University for field experience, student teaching, practicum, and internship. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of 2025-2026 PowerSchool Access Agreement

Riggan moved and Hoben seconded a motion to approve the agreement with Grant Wood AEA for 2025-2026 at a cost of \$12,578.02. Motion carried 5-0.

Career, Tech, Education Club Wall of Fame

Mike reviewed the Career, Tech, Education Club Wall of Fame. No motion made.

Purchase of i-Ready Mathematics Curriculum

Hoben moved and McCLeary seconded to approve the purchase of i-Ready Mathematics curriculum from Curriculum Associates at a cost of \$112, 369.65. Motion carried 5-0.

CodeHS Curriculum Renewal

Hoben moved and McCleary seconded the motion to approve the renewal of CodeHS curriculum at a cost of \$12,594.00. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Secondary Handbook Changes

McCleary moved and Riggan seconded to approve the secondary handbook changes. Ziegenhorn moved and McCLeary seconded to amend the original motion to change under College or Trade School Visits, Apprenticeships & Military Visits from "Seniors are allowed up to two college visits per year with counselor approval" to "Seniors are allowed up to three college visits per year with counselor approval. Amendment carried 5-0. Original Motion with amendment carried 5-0.

Approval of Elementary Handbook Changes

Ziegenhorn moved and Riggan seconded to approve the elementary handbook changes. Ziegenhorn moved and Riggan seconded to amend the original motion to delete Under Food Service Item 10 "as well as it causing hurt feelings" Amendment carried 5-0. Original Motion with amendment carried 5-0.

<u>Board Secretary/Board Treasurer & IEBP Board Member Appointment</u>

Ziegenhorn moved and Riggan seconded the motion to approve LeAnn Gillespie as our Board Secretary/Board Treasurer and IEBP Board Member. Motion carried 5-0.

Personnel

Resignations: McCLeary moved and Riggan seconded to approve the following resignations: Rebecca Ford: Secondary Special Education. Motion carried 5-0.

Hires: Riggan moved and Hoben seconded to approve the following hires: Thomas Liddle: Instrumental Music Coach, Pam Stewart: High School Football Cheer Coach, Tanya Spitznogle: Busy Hands Preschool Coordinator & Full Time Elementary Substitute, Owen Donovan: HS Football Assistant, Dale Barbour: Secondary Special Education, Emily Yerington: Full Time Secondary Substitute and Richard Uthoff: Head Girls Basketball. Motion carried 5-0. Voluntary Transfer: Hoben moved and Ziegenhorn seconded to approve the following voluntary transfer: Jamie Vircks from Elementary Special Education Teacher to Preschool Classroom Teacher for the 2025-26 school year. Motion carried 5-0.

Future Agenda Items

LeAnn Gillespie, Secretary

Adjournment

President Wilson will schedule a Goals Workshop.

<u>Adjournment</u>			
Ziegenhorn moved and Hoben seco	nded to adjourn the me	eeting at 7:20 p.m. N	Notion carried 5-0.
3	3	3	
Scott Wilson, President			
,			
Charles Domer, Secretary			